What is the 40 Developmental Assets?

The 40 Developmental assets are a tool to create a successful life for our youth. The assets have been created by The Search Institute based on research and many case studies. They found that a certain 40 experiences, characteristics, traits can lead to creating tools to fight adversity and hardships more prepared. The 40 assets are broken into 8 categories; the eight categories are broken in to two groups of external behaviors and interior behaviors. They also base the assets on 3 different age categories to best serve the developmental stages in a youths life.

Here you can find more information on what the assets are and how they have been researched by The Search Institute.

Click on a grade level to explore their asset lists.

  • 1. Give them an opportunity to be leaders

  • 2. Withhold judgment

  • 3. Advocate for individuals as well as in general

  • Read More

Coming Soon

Schedule an

Asset Builder Training

Want to learn more about the assets and get hands on experience. Schedule a FREE training for you and your staff by clicking the link below.

Asset Builder Training Click here!


Contact us

Safe Passage Inc. & Prevention
PO Box 235
Batesville, Indiana 47006
812-932-SAFE (7233)

This project is supported in part (or in whole) by grant, 03215VAGX006403 from the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, Office for Victims of Crime through the Indiana Criminal Justice Institute. Views contained herein are those of the author and do not represent the position of USDOJ or ICJI.

Need Help or Want to Donate? Contact us Today.

    Scroll to Top